carlyflames profile image

Pride and Prejudice: How a Classic Novel Taught a Fourteen Year-old to love Period Pieces.

When I was a sophomore in high school I had the great privilege of taking my end of the year exams early as I was in the running to be on the honor roll. Of course, with three awards and, back then, with five of us competing for a medal, it was a competition. I eventually found out that I placed fourth and that meant I was not part of the commencement exercise, which was practiced daily. I also could not ‘hang’ with my other classmates since I knew the answers to the exams they were currently suffering through. With our ‘fifth’ out sick, I was left alone for two weeks and nothing to do in my school’s library. I spent that time, instead of being bored senseless, changing my life. How? By reading Pride and Prejudice for the first time.

NO ONE FORGETS A FIRST TIME

I looked upon it with suspicion born from countless hours spent forcing myself to read and enjoy Shakespeare. Delivered in the monotonous voice of a less than enthusiastic teacher, I felt that anything written before the 1990’s would make me snooze. (No worries, I have since then grown a tremendous appreciation for the Bard’s works, but I do digress). But as my librarian was a tremendously strict lady, who didn’t allow people to sleep in her precious domain, I viewed the book as a less evil alternative to staring blankly into space.

From the very first word, I was hooked. The book gave a tremendously good first impression with its opening, ”It is a truth universally acknowledged that a man in possession of fortune must be in want of a wife." It was a concept so different from what I grew up knowing that I could not put the book down. Ask my best friend about it since I forgot to meet her for lunch that day.

A ROMANTIC’S DREAM

Any romantic who reads Pride and Prejudice would probably spend days gushing about the totally dreamy Mr. Darcy and how they’d want to meet one someday. But while I had romantic fantasies (Hello, adolescent girl still hoping for her first kiss?) I didn’t just dream about Mr. Darcy. I fell in love with the entire thing. From the sweet and beautiful Jane Bennett to the out of place ugly duckling, Mary and even the condescendingly rude Lady Catherine of Rosings Park.

If you’ve fallen in love you know what a tremendous rush it is and reading (and consequently rereading) the classic was no doubt my first experience regarding love. While I was, and still am, a mystery story lover, Pride and Prejudice converted me into full blown love of period pieces whether in print or on screen.

DID YOU SEE ALL THAT FABRIC?

Yes, the book has outdated values and traditions in terms of relationships between men and women, but that’s what made it so attractive to me. The way they dressed was beautiful and the language they use makes the most eloquent of today’s speakers sound like a slang-speaking toddler.

Anyway, even if you don’t like romance you won’t exactly hate this book. It’s all about human interaction in a time long gone and to my way of thinking, it’s an accurate view of little slices from that time period. To this day, like I said above, I still maintain a tremendous love of period pieces. Of course, being my first, I have a special place for Mr. Darcy and his Lizzie in my heart and have yet to get tired of them (I never will)!

What's your favorite movie adaptation of Pride and Prejudice?

  • The 1940 version (Laurence Olivier + Greer Garson)
  • The 1995 mini (Colin Firth + Jennifer Ehle)
  • The 2005 version (Matthew McFadyen + Keira Knightley)
  • I haven't really seen any of them, to be honest
See results without voting

 Last updated on February 11, 2014

Useful Funny Awesome Beautiful Interesting 

Guestbook 31 comments

SusanDeppner profile image

SusanDeppner 7 months ago from Arkansas USA Level 7 Commenter

What a wonderful review! You make me want to pick up the book right now!


carlyflames profile image

carlyflames 7 months ago from Philippines Hub Author

@SusanDeppner: Thanks Susan! I really really love this book.. Like, if I could take just one book with me love. <3


Adventuretravels profile image

Adventuretravels 7 months ago from London UK Level 7 Commenter

I don't remember the first time I read Pride and prejudice, but I remember the first time I saw the 1940 film with Laurence Olivier - it gave me a deep feeling of what it must be like to be in love with! I was very young but I have never forgotten this film. Fancy watching it again now and reading it too. Fabulous book and fabulous review.


andreea22 7 months ago

This is a great lens, carlyflames! Congratulations on review of the day! :)


cure2fit 7 months ago

awesome review...love to read it...

thanks for it...

Surprising Benefits of Sex


MVKilgore profile image

MVKilgore 7 months ago Level 1 Commenter

Great lens...my wife is a bigger fan than I though :)


carlyflames profile image

carlyflames 7 months ago from Philippines Hub Author

@MVKilgore: Hahaha. Sadly, I've not been able to persuade any guy to read it.XD Thanks btw!:)


Zeross4 profile image

Zeross4 7 months ago Level 5 Commenter

This is a great book, I too love the introduction :)


carlyflames profile image

carlyflames 7 months ago from Philippines Hub Author

@Zeross4: Thanks! It's one of my go-to books. <3 The introduction really makes the book, I think. ;D


carlyflames profile image

carlyflames 7 months ago from Philippines Hub Author

@Adventuretravels: I'll be honest.. I've only seen parts of the 1940 version when I came upon it on TV by chance. I've yet to come across a copy but it's definitely on my wishlist! :) Thank you so much! =D


carlyflames profile image

carlyflames 7 months ago from Philippines Hub Author

@andreea22: Thank you Andrea! I can't believe it, tbh. <3


sybil watson profile image

sybil watson 7 months ago Level 5 Commenter

Love this review! I've always had such an admiration for Jane Austen, who gave us a glimpse into all the complexities of being a woman in the Regency period. Congratulation on getting Review of the Day.


carlyflames profile image

carlyflames 7 months ago from Philippines Hub Author

@sybil watson: Thanks, I am very glad you like it!:) Oh, me too, definitely. Kinda takes me back to being 14 and bursting into random tantrums so my dad would buy me all of Austen's books. (which he did. <3) HAHA. Anyway, thank you! I definitely didn't expect it. <3


GrammieOlivia profile image

GrammieOlivia 7 months ago from Toronto Level 7 Commenter

What a great review you have put together. I loved it!


Colin323 profile image

Colin323 7 months ago from Ilkley, Yorkshire Level 6 Commenter

Austen' s best work - she can suggest so much in a few choice and cultured words; puts many modern novelists to shame.


priyanshu6 profile image

priyanshu6 7 months ago

dear Carlyflames, i had the same experience as you had when i first read a classic piece of work. For the first time i couldn't understand the beauty of those great works but now it is so difficult for me to resist any classic novel and especially that of Austen's. I have read all her work and am a great admirer of her work. Loved reading your review. It brought back my memories too.........


Carmel Aaron profile image

Carmel Aaron 7 months ago

I just love Pride and Prejudice. I have all 3 of the videos and the book. Jane Austen was so way ahead of her time. She set a great example of demonstrating that we should write what we know. And her novels are so character filled and full of reality. Thank you for this lens.


glowchick 7 months ago

Great review! I love the book too, although I read it when I was an adult. It is truly great literature :)


anonymous 7 months ago

Good review. I wrote a review of the movie too! :) Great job


Merrci profile image

Merrci 7 months ago from Oregon's Southern Coast Level 8 Commenter

Wonderful review. It makes me want to read it again--it has been a long time. Congrats on Review of the day!


lisa-reynolds-359126 7 months ago

Love the film. Great review. :-)


trevorjb1406 7 months ago

I read this book for my exams when I was about 16yrs old. I still love the film because some of the script makes me laugh and I like the sarcasm of certain comments. Beautifully produced story which never gets boring. Really nice lens and well done for the lens of the day!


Brite-Ideas profile image

Brite-Ideas 7 months ago from Toronto, Canada Level 7 Commenter

congratulations to you on review of the day, and I do love this movie :)


PAINTDRIPS profile image

PAINTDRIPS 7 months ago from Fresno CA Level 5 Commenter

Congrats on Review of the Day!


TerriCarr profile image

TerriCarr 7 months ago Level 5 Commenter

I don't know if I could ever have the patience to read Jane Austen....though I love all the movies. I often have to reread a sentence 3 times to figure out what the heck she is saying :-)


SanaSalim 7 months ago

Really nice review!!


susan369 7 months ago

Great review! I used to read Jane Austin back at university. You can really get into the language after a while. I've got her entire collection on my Kindle. I need more time to read!


Charito1962 profile image

Charito1962 7 months ago from Manila, Philippines Level 6 Commenter

Wonderful review, kabayan! Congrats for being selected Review of the Day! I'm so proud of you!


Jerome77 LM profile image

Jerome77 LM 6 months ago

masterpiece!Big ups.


ChocolateLily 6 months ago

Great review! I felt the same way when first I read it in that I was skeptical but ended up loving it. I think what I've grown to wish for most is the values and roles from that time period.


flycatcherrr profile image

flycatcherrr 6 months ago

I'm not much of a romantic, but I am a big Jane Austen fan. She was a very astute observer of human nature!

    Sign in or sign up and post using a HubPages account.

    8192 characters left.
    Post Comment

    No HTML is allowed in comments, but URLs will be hyperlinked. Comments are not for promoting your Hubs or other sites.


    Click to Rate This Article
    Please wait working